Meet the Stela 9 Girl: Sara

sara with grunes

Next up to bat in our “Meet the Stela 9 Girl” series is, my girl, Sara. This French-speaking, pizza-loving, country-music-listening cutie actually hails from our neighbor to the North, Canada – but lucky for me, her family moved to my hometown in southern California years ago and turned her into a California girl. Even luckier for me, Sara decided to take the big leap and come and join Stela 9 in Antigua this past October and was the first official addition to our little south-of-the-border team.

Sara’s quick wit, fierce dance moves and unique taste in men never leaving us Stela 9 girls wanting for laughs, a great time, or priceless stories about the opposite sex. I mean, what’s not to love about a girl who’s best compliment ever received is “you make me laugh so much”..? In any case, I could go on for ages but I’ll stop here and let you read her candid interview.

PS – If you just can’t get enough of Sarita after reading this quiz, feel free to check out her hilarious self-intro here: https://stela9.wordpress.com/2014/03/18/who-is-sara/

My name and current location is: Sara. Antigua, Guatemala.

The nickname my friends have for me is: Sar, Sarbear, Sara A, Sarita.

I would describe myself in the 3 following adjectives: easygoing, understanding, witty.

I would describe my style in the 3 following adjectives: simple, fitted, black.

When I was a child, I wanted to be a:Sara rules the world.” I used to write it everywhere. One time, my dad got mad at me.

I cannot leave the house without: cash money, honey.

The most awkward date I’ve ever been on: was with this guy who took me to dinner and didn’t speak to me the entire time. When the check came, I reached into my wallet for money. He pondered my action for a minute and then said, “I got this because I like you.” He didn’t speak to me on the ride home either.

Another good time was when I once agreed to go out with this guy who relentlessly asked me out for months. He came over to my house on his bicycle, made me drive to dinner, and then made me pay for it. I realized that night that I make really bad decisions.

My favorite quote is: “There was nowhere to go but everywhere, so just keep on rolling under the stars.” – Jack Kerouac

The funniest walk-of-shame outfit I’ve ever worn was: a guy’s t-shirt with heels. I decided to stop for a bagel and someone’s grandma judged me really aggressively the entire time I was in line. I didn’t care, I was really hungry.

On a typical Saturday night, you can usually find me: cutting a rug on the dance floor or watching a movie. But lately, I’m apparently a bartender.

My favorite movie/television show is: The Intouchables and Homeland.

My biggest pet peeve is: slow internet and when someone doesn’t reply to a text that obviously warrants a response.

I have a weakness for: a man’s man… who takes charge. Also, anyone I have a crush on.

The food I crave the most is: salad with balsamic dressing and pizza with crushed pepper.

My best stress reliever is: listening to music on full blast. Dancing if applicable.

My celebrity crush is: Channing Tatum and Eric Decker. But I’m crushing on James Rodriguez pretty hard right now.

The quality I like most in a man is: dependability and sense of humor. Not affectionate = no go.

My favorite alcoholic beverage is: Tequila out on the town. Blue moon on a hot day. Wine at a dinner party.

The embarrassing moment that still makes me cringe was when: this Australian dude I randomly met was visiting LA and decided to drive down to OC to take me to dinner. As he was walking in front of me on the way to our table, I slipped and in one fluid motion landed straight on my knees in 2 seconds flat. Every table around me started laughing. Two servers ran to my rescue and asked if I was ok. I didn’t reply, I just looked up to see if he had witnessed. He didn’t. I bounced up like a spring and kept walking. I never told him. My knees throbbed the whole dinner.

If I could travel to any country in the world right now, it would be: Colombia.

My hidden talent is: tuning people and/or things out. It’s a gift, really.

I’m passionate about: traveling and improving one’s self. I like writing a lot, too.

My favorite Stela 9 bag is: the Pacaya Mystic crossbody.

My style go-to is: tight jeans and a tank.

When I want to feel sexy, I put on: a black bodycon dress.

The best pickup line that worked on me was: “Sup.” He had swag.

I’m totally addicted to: a hot shower and snuggling.

The most important lesson I’ve learned about love is: timing’s a bitch. However I’m starting to learn that the universe knows more of what I need than I do. Thankfully.

The best compliment I’ve been given was: “You make me laugh so much.”

The song that always puts me in a good mood is: I could name 1 million from all sorts of genres.

My weirdest phobia is: a plethora of insects. On me, next to me, in the other room.

When I wake up in the morning, I always do these two things: Sober: Check my phone, take a shower. Hungover: Say “hullo?” and find the closest person to sit or snuggle up next to me.

If I could pick four people to have dinner with, dead or alive, I’d choose: Channing Tatum, Oprah, Jack Kerouac and Anthony Bourdain.

My guilty pleasure is: Oprah celebrity interview marathons on Sundays.

Something people have wrong about me is: all things that change once you actually get to know me ;)))

In 5 years, I see myself: exploring the world with my main squeeze.

xx, Alexandra

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

