Meet the Model: Faith

Stela 9 - Faith New Myths ModelI had the pleasure of meeting Faith when she flew down to Guatemala to shoot our <<New Myths>> collection last winter. I liked her instantly. She’s easygoing, down for the adventure and keeps it real. Which includes putting her partner, and videographer for the lookbook, in his place when needed. Not to mention, she’s just about the cutest and most down to earth mama around.

Another great love lesson for the books, and I attest to the awkward modeling moment when we were all white-knuckling the side of the boat on the way to San Marcos laughing nervously in an attempt to drown out (no pun intended) the image of us being thrown over board. Like the rest of us here at the HQ, she’s got wanderlust in her bones and, naturally, fell in love with Guatemala during her visit many moons ago which inspired her to join forces with Stela 9 in launching a children’s clothes line. I won’t ramble too much about that, but it’s going to be AWESOME. You’ll have to wait to see.

Full name and location: Faith Hitchon, LA

What do you do, and why is it cool? I create content for our blog, New Forage, and am currently about to launch a children’s clothing line in collab with Stela 9 called Stela Niña! I also just got back from teaching a class on community at the Spirit Weavers Gathering. All three are amazing because I get to meet inspiring people from all over the world, initiate change, and live out my passions- its wonderful.

How would you describe yourself in 3 adjectives? Adventurous, nurturing, is being a Scorpio an adj?

How would you describe your style in 3 adjectives? This is hard for me.. its always evolving. I can tell you that I truly believe clothing helps you become whoever you want to be at any given moment. If caftans were an adjective that would definitely be one.

What item can you not leave the house without?  Bhakti Chai, and a sweater of some sort.. I am totally one of those if its 70 and below -you wear a jacket- LA people. Im always changing bags so its usually a toss up of whats inside.

What’s the most awkward date you’ve ever been on? When I lived in Amsterdam I went on a slew of awkward dates. The best was when a guy I met asked me if he could make me dinner and it turned out he lived in a dorm, was obsessed with war history, and made lasagna somehow. It was a strange night but I learned a lot about WWII.

What is your favorite movie/television show?   I dont have a ton of time for Tv but I do my fair share of Netflix binging on the usual suspects; Scandal, Orange is the New Black, and I love love Friday Night Lights still. Tim Riggins is everything.

Tell us about the Stela 9 Fall 2014 shoot! What was the inspiration? What was your favorite bag? The inspiration was following your heart and knowing that no matter where you adventure, where life takes you, that you can never be lost if you stay true to yourself. I think it was also about following your bliss, being unafraid, taking the road less traveled. It was so amazing to shoot with my sister and lifelong adventure partner, working together was a dream. The Sohpia is my fav. but its hard to choose just one.

Who or what inspires you?. I am inspired by anyone who follows their own heart, its obvious to me when things spur from an original place of creativity and push boundaries. Along with that, anyone making conscious choices about how they live.  I think our generation is figuring out that we don’t have to settle for our lives playing out in this predictable way.. anything you want to create is at your fingertips, literally the world. It’s truly an amazing time to be alive if you can navigate all the superficial inbetween. I have so many creative friends, some since childhood and some I met a month ago, who are doing truly AMAZING things, they push me daily to live outside of the box. My friend Tom of How to Dress Well, Amy Woodruff, Nimiri Firebrace.. and Jess!

What’s a typical Saturday night like for you? Farmers Market, Brunch, Beach on an ideal day. Is that the most LA answer ever?

If you could travel to any country right now, where would it be? hm, I think it would be Indonesia but I have a list the world long of where to go next. My partner and daughter are part Indonesian and I really feel a call to go explore their roots.

What’s something you worked on recently that you’re super proud of? I’m super proud of the work we are doing for Stela Niña, the wonderful energy of all these amazing Guatemalan artisans going into children’s clothing inspires me daily.

What’s the most awkward thing that’s happened to you while modeling? What was hilarious, and less awkward, was attempting to shoot us going across the lake to San Marcos. Even though we rented a private boat the driver refused to slow down and I could of sworn we were going to flip over due to the choppiness of the water. It was somewhat terrifying and then a lot of fun at the same time, I don’t think anyone knew what to do besides hold on and laugh hysterically.

What’s your hidden talent? I am weirdly flexible and have an almost perfect auditory memory.

What’s your weirdest phobia? I really really hate most forms of cow milk except, of course, in cheese form.

Current favorite item in your closet? A wonderful vintage caftan.

What is your style go-to? Long flowy vintage anything. I’m really into opaque solid pieces layered with more funky accents these days.

What’s the best pick-up line you’ve ever used/have gotten? I never get a good one everyone always just sings me George Michael’s ‘Faith’.

What’s the most embarrassing thing that’s happened to you? Getting on the wrong train in Germany one time and then proceeding to walk into a very angry Russian man’s sleeper car.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned about love? It is not a stagnant thing and you have to be flexible. People grow and change their entire lives, you have to be open to that, and willing to understand/ celebrate those changes.

What song always puts you in a good mood? My Boy by Katie Red and Magnoila Shorty- Its a New Orleans thing.

If you could pick 4 people to have dinner with, dead or alive, who would you choose? Grace Coddington, Alice Waters, Jack Spicer, Charles Bukowski, and George Harrison. oops, thats five.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? Living between La, Berlin, and Guatemala in a pretty even split, and have adopted another child. Running Stela Niña which will help fund various schools and programs for keeping the arts/ artisan trades alive in Guatemala. My biggest dream is to live off the grid and have an artist residency program which is also open to the public. We shall see, whatever or wherever I know it will be an adventure.. it always is.

Stela 9 Blog - Signature

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

