Meet the Stela 9 Girl: Jess

Jess Bercovici Stela 9

Jessica, the founder, creative force and mama-bear of Stela 9. Originally from Los Angeles, Jess first found herself in Guatemala for an archeology project where she inevitably fell in love with the Mayan culture, artisan leather crafting and weaving traditions. Which I’m sure you already knew if you’ve read our About section.  But in any case, alas, Stela 9 was born and the rest is history. And we’re so glad it is. 

Since moving to Antigua, Jess and I have spent a lot of time together, as I lived, worked, ate, partied, and pretty much everything else roomies, coworkers, and newfound friends find themselves doing. I LOL’d a few times reading this interview. One, because it’s funny and two, because I’ve witnessed some of it firsthand. The best pickup line that’s ever worked on her… wait for it… is actually real life. No one could make that up. Also, her most embarrassing story are words I think I’m going to start living by.

The wonderful thing all us Stela 9 minions get to enjoy about boss lady Jess is her generosity and true passion for Stela 9. Her goofiness and accident prone ways always guarantees a good laugh and bonus dinner table story. Work mostly feels like play, like a good group of girlfriends discussing and analyzing all things we’d be chatting about anyway. I.e. bags, shoes and clothes… And boys. We also get to be a part of the mission to preserve cultural traditions and provide sustainable income for the hardworking people of Guatemala. And now we’re teaming up with the Non-Profit Hug It Forward. Winning, right? We all think so.

So thanks, mama-bear Jess, for having this vision, and making it come to life.

My name and current location is: Jess Bercovici.  Antigua, Guatemala

The nickname my friends have for me is: Jess?

I would describe myself in the 3 following adjectives: determined, empathetic, accident prone

I would describe my style in the 3 following adjectives: fun, ethnic, easy

When I was a child, I wanted to be a: Movie Star/Archaeologist/First Female President.  All at the same time obviously.

I cannot leave the house without: My phone. Don’t judge.

The most awkward date I’ve ever been on:  The blind date my aunt set me up on (with some guy she sold a house to) at an Italian chain in the valley.  The moment I asked the waiter if I could order my pasta without meat, my date immediately decided he hated me for not eating meat and then proceeded to grill me on why vegetarianism is “wrong”…  It was awesome.

My favorite quote is:  

“I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
in secret, between the shadow and the soul.” – Neruda

The funniest walk-of-shame outfit I’ve ever worn was: Feathers still glued to my face from the night before.  It wasn’t halloween.

On a typical Saturday night, you can usually find me: Tearing it up on the dance floor with my girls or Netflix’ing if Friday got a little too cray.

My favorite movie/television show is: Movie: Tie between The Princess Bride and Pan’s Labyrinth.  TV:  Game of Thrones.

My biggest pet peeve is: Vanity

I have a weakness for:  Cheese

The food I crave the most is: See above

My best stress reliever is: …Running.

My celebrity crush is: Joe Manganiello

The quality I like most in a man is: Creativity and a sense of humor.  Both are pretty much necessary.

My favorite alcoholic beverage is: Michelada

The embarrassing moment that still makes me cringe was when: If I don’t remember it, it doesn’t count.  So nothing embarrasses me.

If I could travel to any country in the world right now, it would be:  Morocco

My hidden talent is:  I can juggle a soccer ball for over a 100 touches.

I’m passionate about:  Stela 9 🙂

My favorite Stela 9 bag is:  The Pacaya Mystic Crossbody in black.

My style go-to is: Pajamas that trick you into thinking they’re clothes.  This paired with an absurd amount of jewelry.

When I want to feel sexy, I put on: an LBD and heels.

The best pickup line that worked on me was: I’ve seen you on instagram.

I’m totally addicted to: Haim radio on Pandora

The most important lesson I’ve learned about love is: be honest with yourself

The best compliment I’ve been given was: One time someone told me they really liked my sarcasm.

The song that always puts me in a good mood is: Ace of Base – The Sign

My weirdest phobia is:  Just not knowing what’s underneath me in deep water.

When I wake up in the morning, I always do these two things:  check instagram and spoon Ito

If I could pick four people to have dinner with, dead or alive, I’d choose: Salvador Dali, Pablo Neruda, Frida Kahlo and Jane Goodall.

My guilty pleasure is: Bravo

Something people have wrong about me is: that I’m super serious

In 5 years, I see myself: I can’t plan that far ahead.

Stela 9 Blog - Signature

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

