Meet the Stela 9 Girl: Kamille

Kamille

Kamille, our Production Assistant and yoga-teaching mama-to-be, is originally from Oklahoma but has been living in Guatemala for years now. Her and her husband, Chris, (who met in the Peace Corps) just make the most adorable duo, and when they’re not doing some type of humanitarian work in Guatemala, they are helping to take care of the 10 puppies their dog Tomas shares with the next-door neighbor, and friend’s, pup.  Who we happened to watch, and help deliver, while enjoying a casual BBQ at their home. Crazy, I know.

We’re so excited for Kamille to share with all of you her experiences with yoga and teaching,  artist spotlights on Guatemala, as well as some great, and easy, recipes with ingredients you can cultivate from your home garden. I have to say, her hidden talent was unexpected but quite impressive, and her most embarrassing moment is definitely one most of us can relate to. Unfortunately. Read below.

My name and current location is: Kamille Swenson Barry, Antigua, Guatemala

I would describe myself in the 3 following adjectives: smart, caring, passionate

I would describe my style in the 3 following adjectives: unique, ethnic, symbolic

When I was a child, I wanted to be: a business woman with a pantsuit 😉

I cannot leave the house without: sunglasses

The most awkward date I’ve ever been on: to the parents home of someone I was not into

My favorite quote is: “Behind every successful woman is herself”

The funniest walk-of-shame outfit I’ve ever worn was: Rudolf Reindeer Costume

On a typical Saturday night, you can usually find me: out to dinner with the hubs

My favorite movie/television show is: Movie-The Family Stone, TV-Homeland

My biggest pet peeve is: actively ignorant people

I have a weakness for: wine and cheese

The food I crave the most is: pizza

My best stress reliever is: hot bath w/ lavender oil

My celebrity crush is: Jake Gyllenhaal

The quality I like most in a man is: kindness

My favorite alcoholic beverage is: sauvignon blanc

The embarrassing moment that still makes me cringe was when: I sweated through my lavender dress at an outdoor wedding in Arizona leaving the backside a full shade darker. There was nothing that could be done except wait for it to dry. ugh.

If I could travel to any country in the world right now, it would be: Thailand

My hidden talent is: mean tambourine skills

I’m passionate about: fair trade, empowering others, yoga

My favorite Stela 9 bag is: Shiva Hobo

My style go-to is: jeans and boots

When I want to feel sexy, I put on: Jo Malone Perfume

The best pickup line that worked on me was: “Please make me the happiest man in the world and marry me?”

I’m totally addicted to: fresh cut flowers

The most important lesson I’ve learned about love is: to give it

The best compliment I’ve been given was: ‘you’re going to be a great mom’

The song that always puts me in a good mood is: Home-Edward Sharpe

My weirdest phobia is: other people’s hair on me

When I wake up in the morning, I always do these two things: look up at the sky then say hi to the dog and cat

If I could pick four people to have dinner with, dead or alive, I’d choose: Barack Obama, Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Jane Goodall

My guilty pleasure is: waffles

Something people have wrong about me is: my age, usually

In 5 years, I see myself: teaching yoga, being a mom, working for something I am passionate about

Stela 9 Blog - Signature

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

