Antigua Markets

This morning I ventured to the vibrant and bustling markets of Antigua. The market can be very overwhelming and super crowded. At this particular market you can basically find anything your heart desires – from clothes, beauty products, textiles, electronics to fresh veggies, fruit, meat, fish, flowers, etc. I typically only hit up the veggie, fruit and flower stands. Fresh fruit and veggies are the main component of my vegetarian diet.  I won’t even get into what the fresh poultry and fish stands look like, if anyone ever needs convincing to switch to the vegetarian world, this part of the market would definitely push you in that direction.

I love to get my fruit and veggies from a market or farmer’s market which we commonly have in the states. I try not to buy fruit and veggies from a huge food store, sometimes this is may be my only option but I try to eat as locally fresh and organic as possible. I think the American society as a very skewed vision on what fresh fruit and veggies are suppose to look like, they are not always going to perfect. Apples and oranges are not suppose to be so shiny that you can see your reflection in them. They are suppose to have imperfections, especially when they are grown locally organic, sans nasty pesticides.

The market could be a nightmare for some as locals are shouting out what the are selling, the price in Quetzales (Guatemalan currency) and of course in Spanish, a language that I am still learning. But I actually really enjoy the market not just for the reason of practicing my Spanish skills while purchasing fresh fruit and veggies but I am also experiencing the culture of the locals and how they go about buying food for their families.  The exotic fruits,veggies and local fresh cut flowers are so colorful and enticing it makes it hard for me not to leave the market with bundles in both hands!

When traveling I prefer to only eat the locally sourced fruit and veggies, it seems silly to eat anything that isn’t grown in Guatemala because there are so many varieties of fruit and veggies that are grown here. The amount of miles that fresh produce travels to be in your big box food store is astronomical and is a huge factor in aiding in green house gases and global warming. I like to have an idea of where my food comes from, I think this is something extremely important since this is what we are putting into our body everyday. I hope you are inspired by my market visit today and head to your local farmer’s market!

DSC_1904weekender

DSC_1906weekender

DSC_1908weekender

DSC_1911weekender

DSC_1912weekender

DSC_1913weekender

DSC_1915weekender

DSC_1918weekender

DSC_1919weekender

DSC_1920weekender

DSC_1921weekender

DSC_1923weekender

DSC_1924weekender

DSC_1925weekender

DSC_1928weekender

DSC_1929weekender

DSC_1930weekender

DSC_1931weekender

DSC_1936weekender

DSC_1937weekender

DSC_1942weekender

DSC_1938weekender

DSC_1941weekender

DSC_1939weekender

DSC_1943weekender

DSC_1966weekender

DSC_1945weekender

DSC_1944weekender

DSC_1946weekender

DSC_1947weekender

DSC_1948weekender

DSC_1951weekender

DSC_1950weekender

DSC_1952weekender

DSC_1954weekender

DSC_1955weekender

DSC_1956weekender

DSC_1958weekender

DSC_1962weekender

DSC_1957weekender

DSC_1964weekender

DSC_1967weekender

DSC_1963weekender

DSC_1969weekender

 

Cheers!

sign

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

