DIY : Spring Pots

I would say that I have some what of a green thumb, it is in my blood after all. I grew up planting and caring for lush gardens full of veggies, herbs and flowers. From my previous posts, you can see that I love to have living green in and outside the house. Succulents are a trendy plant but they are also so classic and beautiful looking… plus super easy to care for, making them even more appealing!

When I have down time I love mastering up DIY projects. Before coming to Guatemala, I was on this kick of painting ceramic pots and planting them with different types of succulents and cactuses. I began making them for my house and then I started gifting them to friends – they make a very thoughtful fun gift. They are also great as party favors, I painted classic pots and potted them with succulents a few years ago for my sister’s bridal shower. Everyone loved them, and I enclosed a cute care instructions tag to the pots to give it a personal finishing touch. Today I am sharing with you spring potting inspiration if you choose to be the classic girl or the bold colorful girl!

9bdf4f017f1fd785c9842b82ba68770dweekender

 

diy

Grab ceramic pots from your local garden shop, hardware or craft store. At the craft store you can also pick up your desired paint colors and brushes.  You should always use a pot with drainage on the bottom and then have a saucer for it. For a classic finish on the pots stick to light colors like whites and beiges. If you are a little OCD and desire clean straight lines you can easily use tape and then remove when the paint has dried. I prefer the uneven shabby chic look of a steady hand. After painting your desired look to your pot and it has dried, add a couple spoons full of succulent and cactus potting soil and pot your pretty new plants then display around your casa!

a87a00ca8b711cf285abeccd4979e598

 

48c7491139fdf94d98457627619e67a5

 

311628782d9ebbc9d5dcb6998be3e143

 

il_570xN.312094016

boldpaint

If bold, daring, bright colors are more your preference then you will love these pots! Neon colors, silvers and gold leaf make for a a colorful array to spruce up any location in or outside your house.  You can play with geometric shapes and mix color combinations using tape to mark off your lines.

93d45b24876c3492cb76237cebda8361

 

91de14102a6c9d03aef3c4611d8efbbeweekender

 

aa5d65004ae990836bf08606d1b1b229

 

dad381b57a3256d04ec83bee3af9051c

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetCare Instructions for Succulents & Cactus 

 

sign

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

