DIY: Coconut Coffee Body Scrub

I am not a coffee enthusiast by any means, my idea of having a cup of coffee in the morning is having a few sips out of a friend’s cup or pouring myself the smallest cup possible (basically a shot) I get way too jittery from coffee. Sometimes I love getting that jolt of caffeine rush in the morning but if I overdue the coffee intake the rest of my day is full of anxiety. I am always up for trying new DIY beauty ideas and after hearing about this coconut coffee body scrub, I was in and now addicted. 

The scrub is made from 5 natural ingredients that most people can find right in their kitchen – ground coffee, coconut oil, ground cinnamon and brown sugar.

coffeegrounds

Coffee is high in antioxidants with anti-inflammatory properties. Caffeine draws out excess moisture from your skin, making it firm and smooth! The coffee grounds act as an exfoliate by removing dead skin cells.

 

coco

In my opinion, coconut oil is officially the best product on the planet, it has the duel properties of being consumed as food (tastes delicious) and being used as a beauty product. Coconut oil is packed with vitamins and minerals making it an amazing skin moisturizer!

 

cinamon

Cinnamon aids in clearing skin of any bacteria. It smooths out any lines on your skin and increases collagen levels of your skin – important for anti-aging.

 

brownsugar

Brown sugar’s granulated particles exfoliate your skin, clearing away dry and dead skin cells. This helps create smoother skin and lends a youthful glow. It also moisturizes your skin and protects your skin from harmful toxins.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of ground coffee

1/4 cup of coconut oil

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of brown sugar

To make the scrub, heat the coconut oil until its liquified and mix it with the coffee grounds. Wait for the mixture to go back to room temperature before adding the other ingredients. This is to ensure that your exfoliants won’t dissolve in the oil. Once all ingredients are mixed, store your scrub in an air-tight jar.

arm

I have to warn you that this scrub smells delicious! The smell relaxed my mind and body. I tasted it just out of curiosity since it is made with edible ingredients, and it tastes as delicious as it smells! I limited myself to one taste as I didn’t want my caffeine jolt to kick in… I recommend applying the scrub in your shower as it can be a little messy. After applying the scrub, hang out for a bit, let the scrub do the exfoliating and then rinse off in a nice luke warm shower. Your skin will be left so smooth and smelling so sweet that you will want to incorporate this scrub routine into your morning shower every day. Enjoy getting your scrub on!!

bodyscrub

 

sign

Leave a Reply

Free People Blog

BLDG25 Blog at Free People

